Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

About the author: Philip Pullman.. Contents. The works of Philip Pullman. About the author. His Dark Materials. The Sally Lockhart quartet. More information.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "About the author: Philip Pullman.. Contents. The works of Philip Pullman. About the author. His Dark Materials. The Sally Lockhart quartet. More information."— Presentation transcript:

1 About the author: Philip Pullman.

2 Contents. The works of Philip Pullman. About the author. His Dark Materials. The Sally Lockhart quartet. More information.

3 About the author. Philip Pullman is one of the finest and most popular children’s authors writing today. He has won the Carnegie Medal, the Guardian Children’s Fiction Award, the Smarties Prize and the prize for Children’s Book of the Year at the British Book Awards.

4 The works of Philip Pullman. Non-series books: 1972 The Haunted Storm 1976 Galatea 1982 Count Karlstein 1987 How to be Cool 1989 Spring-Heeled Jack 1990 The Broken Bridge 1992 The White Mercedes 1993 The Wonderful Story of Aladdin and the Enchanted Lamp 1995 Clockwork The Firework-Maker's Daughter 1998 Mossycoat The Butterfly Tattoo 1999 I was a Rat! 2000 Puss in Boots: The Adventures of That Most Enterprising Feline 2004 The Scarecrow and his Servant 12

5 The works of Philip Pullman. The New-Cut Gang: 1994 Thunderbolt's Waxwork 1995 The Gasfitter's Ball The Sally Lockhart quartet: 1985 The Ruby in the Smoke 1986 The Shadow in the North 1990 The Tiger in the Well 1994 The Tin Princess His Dark Materials: 1995 Northern Lights 1997 The Subtle Knife 2000 The Amber Spyglass Companion Books: 2003 Lyra's Oxford 12

6 His Dark Materials. Northern Lights The Subtle Knife The Amber Spyglass

7 Northern Lights. The first book in the HIS DARK MATERIALS trilogy When Lyra’s friend Roger disappears, she and her dæmon, Pantalaimon, determine to find him. The ensuing quest leads them to the bleak splendor or the North, where armoured bears rule the ice and witch-queens fly through the frozen skies - and where a team of scientists is conducting experiments too horrible to be spoken about. Lyra overcomes these strange terrors, only to find something yet more perilous waiting for her - something with consequences which may even reach beyond the Northern Lights …

8 The Subtle Knife. The second book in the HIS DARK MATERIALS trilogy Will is twelve years old and he’s just killed a man. Now he’s on his own, on the run, determined to discover the truth about his father’s disappearance. Then Will steps through a window in the air into another world, and finds himself with a companion - a strange, savage little girl called Lyra. Like Will, she has a mission which she intends to carry out at all costs. But the world of Cittàgazze is a strange and unsettling place. Deadly, soul eating Spectres stalk its streets, while high above, the wingbeats of distant angels sound against the sky. And in the mysterious Torre degli Angeli lurks Cittàgazze’s most important secret - an object which people from many worlds would kill to posses …

9 The Amber Spyglass. The third and concluding book in the HIS DARK MATERIALS trilogy Lyra and Will, the ordinary children who were left in such extrodinary danger at the end of Book Two, find themselves in the final part of the story facing even greater perils. But there are old friends who come to their aid, not least Iorek Byrnison, the armoured bear, and the scientist Dr Mary Malone. There are new allies: the Gallivespians, hand-high dragonfly riders with poison spurs, and the mulefa, strange wheeled creatures with the power to see Dust. And there are new dangers, including a journey to the worst world of all - a journey that exerts a terrible cost on both children … 12

10 The Amber Spyglass. … But they will not be children for much longer. And as they come to the end of their childhood, not only are they vulnerable to the Spectres, those shimmering destroyers of adults’dæmons, but they have to face, without knowing it, the challenge posed by the fate that has been approaching Lyra all her life. And the survival of everything finally comes to depend on one simple action: one simple response to one simple story. Like all the greatest stories, this one is deep and has far to go. At its simplest it is a story of courage and humanity about a boy and a girl with a destiny to fulfil. At its deepest it whirls the reader into a universe of marvels and dazzling thought, and you know you are treading with the author in territory previously unvisited by rhyme or prose. 12

11 The Sally Lockhart quartet. The Ruby in the Smoke The Shadow in the North The Tiger in the Well The Tin Princess

12 The Ruby in the Smoke. ‘Have you ever heard the phrase The Seven Blessings?’ That question causes a man to die of shock, and propels Sally Lockhart into a desperate adventure that will expose the deepest secrets of the corrupt and murderous opium trade. Sally is sixteen when the story begins, orphaned and alone. She's had an unconventional education: her knowledge of English Literature, French, History, Art and Music is non- existent, but she has a thorough grounding in military tactics, can run a business, ride like a Cossack and shoot straight with a pistol. When her father is drowned in suspicious circumstances in the South China Sea, Sally soon finds herself in terrible danger too - and at the rotten heart of it all lies the deadly secret of the ruby in the smoke.

13 The Shadow in the North. Set against the backdrop of a veiled and misty Victorian underworld, the story of Sally Lockhart-- female entrepreneur and expert financial advisor--and her allies Jim and Fred, begins to unfold as news of the disappearance of the steamship Ingrid Linde reaches the ears of the intrepid trio. As they investigate the loss, they are unwittingly drawn into a dark and sinister plot fuelled by the business dealings of the cruel and heartless Bellman. As their investigations continue, strange and supernatural forces intercede, leading them deeper into the menacing back streets of Victorian London and taking them on a journey into the very heart of true evil.

14 The Tiger in the Well. A terrifying thriller set in Victorian London. Sally Lockhart is content - her business is thriving, she has a comfortable house, and her adored baby daughter Harriet. But her life is about to change - or rather someone has already changed it. Sally's history has been altered, and her child is suddenly no longer hers. To save Harriet, Sally must abandon her comfortable existence and hide - until it's time to fight back.

15 The Tin Princess. Sally Lockhart's friend and partner-in- adventure Jim Taylor has just solved a mystery. For years he's been searching for Adelaide, the little girl enslaved by toothless crone Mrs. Holland in The Ruby in the Smoke. And now he's found her - just as she's about to become a princess. Crown Princess of Razkavia, to be exact, and a princess in danger. Her future husband is desperate to protect his bride, and employs Jim as their bodyguard - Razkavia's quaint little streets are full of danger.

16 More information. For more information about Philip Pullman and his works, visit:

Download ppt "About the author: Philip Pullman.. Contents. The works of Philip Pullman. About the author. His Dark Materials. The Sally Lockhart quartet. More information."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google