Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Developments in the Liberal Party since 2007 by Maria Carmen Zamora-Apsay.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Developments in the Liberal Party since 2007 by Maria Carmen Zamora-Apsay."— Presentation transcript:

1 Developments in the Liberal Party since 2007 by Maria Carmen Zamora-Apsay

2 The Liberal Party The Liberal Party (LP) was founded on 19 January 1946 by Manuel Roxas, the first President of the Third Philippine Republic. The second oldest Political Party in the Philippines, the Liberal Party (LP) is considered an institution of Philippines sociopolitical life. Formed after World War II by Pres. Manuel A. Roxas, it has consistently provided the country with strong leadership, especially in times of crisis. It is a Party whose history is filled with sacrifice; its members and leaders have been known to give their very lives just to see Freedom and Liberty reign in the Philippines. During moments of moral ambiguity in Philippine Politics, government officials and the media always look towards where the LP will go as an indication on what may be the right decision or stand on an issue.

3 Party officials Chairman Emeritus: Former Senate President Jovito Salonga (1982-present) Chairman: Sen.Franklin Drilon (2006-present)

4 Party officials President: Former Sen. Manuel Roxas II (present) Executive Vice President: H.E. Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III

5 Party officials Vice President for Policy: Sec. Florencio Abad, Department of Budget & Management Secretary-General: Rep. Jun Abaya

6 Party officials Director-General: Atty. Jose Luis Martin C. Gascon, Esq Deputy Director-General: La Union Province Board Member Henry Bacunay, Jr.


8 Highlights within the LP 2005 The Liberal Party withdraws its support from the Arroyo Administration following controversies involving her election into office. LP cabinet officials resign from their posts along with other economic and social service secretaries. 2007 Liberal Party senatorial candidates Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan and Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III are elected in the office placing 5th and 6th respectively

9 Highlights within the LP - 2007 Institutionalization of Monthly Leaders’ Meeting. LP Headquarters Greater Grassroots Work August 21 Events Media Workshop for Liberals International Relations

10 Highlights within the LP 2008-2009 Strengthening National Machinery for 2010 Assembly of Liberal Board Members in December of 2008 Forum with Mr. Joe Hannsen, chief strategist for Pres. Barack Obama

11 Highlights within the LP 2008-2009 Liberal Party-AKBAYAN (Citizens’ Action Party) Alliance August 21 Events – Catalyzing Event: The passing of Former President Corazon C. Aquino Deepening Ties with the Council of Asian Liberals and Democrats

12 Highlights within the LP - 2010 Liberal Party President Senator Mar Roxas initially aspired for the Presidency. Following former President Corazon Aquino’s death in August, calls for Senator Noynoy Aquino to run for President in the 2010 elections prompted Senator Roxas to withdraw from his bid and support Senator Aquino. Senator Roxas’ sacrifice of putting “Country Above Self” inspired Filipinos to support an Aquino-Roxas candidacy. Aquino and Roxas joined forces to become the most favored tandem in the 2010 elections

13 Highlights within the LP - 2010 Benigno S. “Noynoy” Aquino is elected and proclaimed President in June 2010 The Liberal Party obtains 4 seats in the Senate and 81 seats in the House of Representatives, including the Speaker of the House, Feliciano Belmonte Jr.

Download ppt "Developments in the Liberal Party since 2007 by Maria Carmen Zamora-Apsay."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google