Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

OCTOBER 2009. Population density in Colombo= just over 16,000 people per Square km Population density in Menik Farm= over 25,000 people per Square.

Similar presentations


Presentation on theme: "OCTOBER 2009. Population density in Colombo= just over 16,000 people per Square km Population density in Menik Farm= over 25,000 people per Square."— Presentation transcript:

1 OCTOBER 2009

2

3

4 Population density in Colombo= just over 16,000 people per Square km Population density in Menik Farm= over 25,000 people per Square km 1/3 of the equivalent of Colombo’s population lives in 1/5 of Colombo’s area

5 1)% IDPs return to places of origin: Return package of shelter, food, non- food assistance 2)% IDP are moved to new ‘closed’ transit camps: No assistance 3)% IDP remain in ‘closed’ camps (Menik Farm / Pulmaddai, etc. continued emergency assistance with regular review of progress on freedom of movement: humanitarian imperative / Approaching Moosons. 4)IDP released to host families

6 Monsoon Contingency Planning: Menik Farm Areas of high vulnerability identified Sectors reviewing capacity and response and need for pre-positioning stocks Liaison with SF Commander on relocation of people within Menik Farm Possible evacuation to public buildings Acceleration of releases / returns

7

8 No.Sector Lead Agency Contact PersonEmail 1FoodWFPGiancarlo Stopponigiancarlo.stoppani@wfp.org 2Health/nutritionWHODr. Edwin Salvadorsalvadore@whosrilanka.org 3 WASH UNICEF Abdulai Kaikai (WASH)akaikai@unicef.org NutritionDr. Moazzem Hossain (Nutrition)smhossain@unicef.org 4Shelter/NFRIUNHCRLaurent Raguinraguin@unhcr.org 5Education UNICEFPeter Quamo (Education)pquamo@unicef.org SCiSLJamie Williams (co-lead education)jamie@savetheschildren.lk 6Protection/HRUNHCRElizabeth Tantan@unhcr.org 7 Coordination /Support Services (Logistics etc) WFPDavid Allen (Logistics)David.Allen@wfp.org UN OCHA Steve Rayray5@un.org Tamara Nanayakkarananayakkarat@un.org 8SecurityUN DSSChris DuToitchris.dutoit@undp.org 9Agriculture/food securityFAO Francisco Gammarofrancisco.gammaro@fao.org Nihani Rizanihani.riza@fao.org 10 Economic Recovery / Infrastructure UNDPMinna ThaheerMinna.Thaheer@undp.org 11Mine ActionUNDPNiloufer De Silvaniloufer.desilva@undp.org Sector Focal Points in COLOMBO

9 Sector Focal Points in VAVUNIYA Sector Cluster Lead ResponsibleCo-Lead Office Contact FoodWFPMr Mitchell CarlsonMr Francis Abanzi0242221781 ProtectionUNHCRMs Anna PelosiMr. Karl Engman0242222550 ShelterUNHCRMr Chris NixonMr. Brian L Povlsen0242222550 NFRIsUNHCRMr Francis MuwongeMs Zel Sinclair0242221509 WatSanUNICEFMs. Kit DyerMs Radhika0242223485 NutritionUNICEFDr AwilMr Sutharman0242223485 HealthWHODr.N.P. SumanaweeraDr. Janakan0242225427 Education UNICEF / Save the Children Mr Ariel SolariMs Chandra Gilmore0242223485 LogisticsWFPMr MadsMr David Allen0242221086


Download ppt "OCTOBER 2009. Population density in Colombo= just over 16,000 people per Square km Population density in Menik Farm= over 25,000 people per Square."

Similar presentations


Ads by Google