Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

What’s New with Beacon? AACN National Teaching Institute May 2010 Washington D.C.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "What’s New with Beacon? AACN National Teaching Institute May 2010 Washington D.C."— Presentation transcript:


2 What’s New with Beacon? AACN National Teaching Institute May 2010 Washington D.C.

3 Today’s Topics Brief history of Beacon Beacon changes –Criteria –Review process –Scoring New resources coming soon

4 A Little History Established in 2003 42 questions in 6 categories Available for Adult Critical Care, Progressive Care and Pediatric Critical Care only

5 Beacon Award Program Goals Recognition of unit level excellence in practice and patient outcomes Answer the question “What does an excellent critical care unit look like?” Share best practices from excellent units

6 Success to date 315 units recognized since 2003 127 units recognized this year 52 units multiple winners

7 What We’ve Learned Beacon award aligns with other nationally recognized quality programs –Baldrige –Magnet –National Quality Forum (NQF) –AACN Standards for Achieving and Sustaining a Healthy Work Environment

8 Alignment of Beacon Award for Excellence Criteria with other National Recognition Programs Beacon Award for Excellence Leadership Structures & Systems Appropriate Staffing & Staff Engagement Effective Communication Knowledge Management & Best Practices Evidence-based Practice & Processes Patient Outcomes Baldrige National Quality Program LeadershipWorkforce FocusMeasurement, Analysis & Knowledge Management Process ManagementFocus on Patients, other customers & markets Healthy Work Environment Authentic LeadershipMeaningful Recognition Appropriate Staffing Effective Decision Making True Collaboration Skilled Communication Magnet Recognition Program Structural Empowerment Transformational Leadership Exemplary Professional Practice New Knowledge, innovations and improvements Empirical outcomes National Quality Forum Safe Practice: Leadership Structures & Systems SP: Identification & Mitigation of Risks & Hazards SP II: ICU (intensivists) certified SP: Direct Caregivers (Non- Nursing Staffing) SP 9: Nursing Workforce (Staffing) SP 8: Care of the Caregiver Safe Practice: Teamwork Training & Skill Building (to reduce preventable harm to patients) SP 14: Labeling of Diagnostic Studies (Red Lab Dx) SP 13: Order Read-Back & Abbreviations SP 5: Informed Consent SP 16: Computerized Prescriber Order Entry (technology information sharing) SP: Disclosure (Following serious unanticipated outcomes) SP 15: Discharge Systems (hand offs) SP 12: Patient Care Information (CPDE accessible) Safe Practice: Culture Measurement Feedback & Intervention SP 22: Surgical Site infection prevention SP 21 Central Line Associated Blood Stream Infection Prevention SP 19 Hand hygiene SP: Care of the Ventilated Patient (DVT, PUD, Decub, VAP, VT) SP: Medication Reconciliation SP 29: Anticoagulation therapy (peds/neo) SP: Life-sustaining treatment SP 24: Multi-resistant organism prevention (MORO) SP 33: Falls prevention SP 32: Organ Donation SP 32: Glycemic Control SP 27: Pressure Ulcer Prevention SP 28: Venous Thromboembolism Prevention SP 25: Catheter-Associated Urinary tract Infection prevention

9 What We’ve Learned Blind review didn’t provide sufficient context for evaluation Review cycle too long We need to be able to share best practices among units

10 What’s the Same? Web-based application and feedback process 360 degree evaluation of your unit Independent review by trained reviewers Tools and resources available on the Beacon website

11 What’s Different Award extended from 1 to 3 years Eliminated steps in the process – no more requests for additional information Focus on “how”

12 What’s Different Evaluation changed from “meets, does not meet, exceeds” to numerical scoring to allow units to measure improvement over time Implemented 3 levels of award – bronze, silver and gold

13 What’s Better Added unit profile to fully describe the relationships and structure of your unit Expanded criteria to allow any unit where patients receive their principle nursing care after admission to apply Addition of Executive Summary to feedback

14 2010 Beacon Criteria

15 Beacon Categories 20102003 Unit Profile Leadership Structures & Systems Leadership/Organizational Ethics Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement Recruitment & Retention, Education Training & Mentoring Effective Communication, Knowledge Management & Best Practices Healing Environment Evidence-based Practice and Processes Evidence-Based Practice/Research Patient Outcomes

16 Unit Profile Key characteristics that define your work group, unit or microsystem

17 Leadership Structures & Systems How unit leaders ensure a healthy work environment that delivers the best care for patients and families 150 points

18 Appropriate Staffing & Staff Engagement How the unit engages, manages and develops staff? 100 points

19 Effective Communication, Knowledge Management & Best Practices How the unit ensures effective communication, staff competency and management of knowledge sharing 100 points

20 Evidence-based Practice and Processes How staff are engaged to achieve better patient outcomes, improve processes and stay current with evidence-based practice and research 200 points

21 Patient Outcomes The unit’s key nurse-sensitive patient outcome measures and results 450 points

22 Application & Review Process On-line application submission and payment process –$1,500 for 3 year designation 38 questions in 6 areas Text and charts

23 Application & Review Process Independent review & score Senior review –Executive summary –Final score Feedback report

24 Award Levels Beacon Award for Excellence Bronze Award Beacon Award for Excellence Silver Award Beacon Award for Excellence Gold Award 1.Overall score of 250 – 400 points 2.Most scores at or above 25% 1.Overall score of 350 – 700 points 2.Most scores at or above 50% 3.Few major gaps in any area 1.Overall score of over 650 points 2.Most scores at or above 70% 3.No major gaps in any area



27 Scoring Unit will receive a score for each area –Leadership Structures & Systems –Appropriate Staffing & Staff Engagement –Effective Communication, Knowledge Management & Best Practices –Evidence-based Practices & Processes –Patient Outcomes

28 Scoring Category scores will be multiplied by the total number of points available for that category Example - Leadership 150 points * 60% score = 90 points

29 Scoring Leadership Staffing Communication Evidence-based practice Patient outcomes Total Points 150 * 50% = 75 100 * 65% = 65 100 * 55% = 55 200 * 60% = 120 450 * 40% = 180 495

30 Resources Beacon Criteria Brochure – May Beacon Audit Tool - May Applying for the Beacon Award for Excellence Webinar – July

31 Next Steps Read the entire application booklet Review the scoring system Understand the meaning of key terms in the glossary Prepare the unit profile Complete the Beacon assessment tool Develop & submit your application


33 Questions?

34 Thank you for pursuing excellence



Download ppt "What’s New with Beacon? AACN National Teaching Institute May 2010 Washington D.C."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google