Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Six-Kingdom Classification

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Six-Kingdom Classification"— Presentation transcript:

1 Six-Kingdom Classification

2 Classification Aristotle first classified organisms as either plants or animals…. This was good until… There are forms of life that do not fit into those categories!!! Currently, we use the six-Kingdom classification system.. *** use to be 5, but we separated Eubacteria and Archaebacteria…Why?

3 The Six Kingdoms Archaebacteria Eubacteria Protista Fungi Plantae

4 Archaebacteria Unicellular prokaryotes. Do not have a nucleus
Live in Harsh environments. Reproduce Binary Fission

5 Eubacteria Unicellular Prokaryotes Do not have a nucleus
The bacteria around us Can be good and bad…how??? Reproduce Binary Fission

6 Protista Most are unicellular eukaryotic
Can be heterotrophic or autotrophic This is the place to put all Eukaryotes that are not plants, animals, or fungi. Not necessarily related, but unsure where to place them

7 Fungi Multicellular Eukaryotic Heterotrophic…decomposers
Over 100,000 species of fungi including fungi, mushrooms, mildews, molds.

8 Plantae Multicellular eukaryotic
Autotrophic (can make their own food…Photosythesis) Examples include mosses, ferns, conifers, and flowering plants.

9 Animalia Multicellular Eukaryotic Heterotrophic
Most animals have symmetric body organization and move about in their environment Examples: Birds, insects, worms, mammals, reptiles, and humans

Download ppt "Six-Kingdom Classification"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google