Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Croeso i Brifysgol Aberystwyth Welcome to Aberystwyth University

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Croeso i Brifysgol Aberystwyth Welcome to Aberystwyth University"— Presentation transcript:

1 Croeso i Brifysgol Aberystwyth Welcome to Aberystwyth University
Yr Athro / Professor April McMahon Is-Ganghellor | Vice-Chancellor

2 About us Established in 1872, we are the oldest university in Wales;
Traditional, research based University with a long history of Excellence in Teaching and Research; 12,000 students from across the UK, Europe and the rest of the World; Home to the National Library of Wales, one of Britain’s great copyright libraries.

3 Where are we? Bangor University Glyndŵr University
Aberystwyth University Open University Swansea Metropolitan University of Wales Trinity St David University of Glamorgan University of Wales Newport Cardiff University Swansea University Cardiff Metropolitan University

4 Four Campuses Penglais Llanbadarn Gogerddan Old College

5 Why Aberystwyth? Student Satisfaction – 3rd in the world in iGrad international student barometer for student satisfaction, top for ‘best place to be’; Accommodation – guaranteed accommodation for many beginning students; Bursaries & Scholarships – a generous number of awards in a range of categories; Campus University – compact, convenient, minimal daily commuting costs; Safe & Secure - low crime area, with insurance costs that are substantially less than those in urban areas;

6 Excellence in Teaching - over 70% of students taught in departments graded ‘excellent’ by official assessments of teaching quality. Commitment - one of highest completion rates of any UK University; Research - distinguished record of cutting-edge research of international significance; Bilingualism - at the heart of everything we do, a great foundation for our multicultural society; Our Environment - one of the most spectacular locations of any university – our landscape is, quite literally, our laboratory.

7 17 Academic Departments Art & Art History
Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences (IBERS) Computer Science Education & Lifelong Learning English & Creative Writing European Languages Geography and Earth Sciences History & Welsh History Information Studies International Politics Law & Criminology Psychology Management & Business Mathematics & Physical Sciences Sports & Exercise Science Theatre, Film & Television Studies Welsh

8 How does the University work?
The Governing Body is the Council, chaired by the President / Chancellor; Managed by the University Executive Group, led by the Vice-Chancellor; Key committees include Senate and Finance and Strategy Committee; Currently 3 Faculties, moving over the next year to a new model of departments within Institutes.

9 Executive team Prof April McMahon Vice-Chancellor Rebecca Davies
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Students and Staff Services) Dr Catrin Hughes Registrar and Secretary Prof Martin Jones Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research, enterprise and engagement) Prof John Grattan Pro Vice-Chancellor (Student experience and international) Susan Chambers Director of HR Prof Aled Jones Pro Vice-Chancellor (Welsh language and culture) Lucy Hodson Director of Planning Peter Curran Director of Finance

10 To contact the Executive
Contacting the Vice-Chancellor’s Office: Call over: First floor, Visualisation Centre, Penglais Campus or Phone:

11 . Nid byd, byd heb wybodaeth A world without knowledge is no world at all

12 Our Values

13 Our People Aber Students – the heart of our campus
Aber Staff – the basis of our excellence Aber Community – collaborating in success

14 Our aims, Strategic Plan 2012-17
Creating opportunities; Research with excellence that makes an impact; Teaching that inspires; Engaging the world; Working in partnership; Investing in the future.

15 Ambitious targets – by 2017 we will…
… and more!

16 Your contribution Be an active member of our community;
Share your experience and knowledge; Contribute to our consultations; Participate in Staff Development Performance Reviews; Celebrate your successes; inform our Communications Team: Keep in touch:

17 Gweithio gyda’n gilydd Cyfarwyddwr AD / Director of HR
Working together Sue Chambers Cyfarwyddwr AD / Director of HR

18 Human Resources Team based at the Science Park
Heather Hinkin, Deputy Director of HR 4 management teams HR Website HR Policies and Procedures Centre for the Development of Staff and Academic practice (CDSAP) Equality and Diversity – Olymbia Petrou

19 Leri Liz Merriman Sandra Arnold Val Watson Rhodri Gravell Jo Foley
IMAPS Computer Science Welsh SELL Academic Office Planning Office Health Safety and Environment VC’s office Welsh Language CWP Design and Print Admissions Marketing Finance

20 Dyfi Rebecca Kularatne Kim Dyer Susie Smith Lucy Stonebridge
Eleri Davies Law and Criminology DIS SMB IBERS IGES Interpol History and Welsh History Communications DARO International Information Services

21 Ystwyth Lesley Spees Nia Jones Hannah Jones Annamarie Arden
Shereena Lewis English and Creative Writing TFTS Art European Languages RHS Sports Centre Estates Arts Centre Brynamlwg

22 Rheidol Sam Morrison Stephen Johns Lauren Harvey
Institute of Human Sciences CCS Research Office Student Support Childcare Services Human Resources

23 Developments in 2012/13 Staff Development and Performance review process; E recruiter; HR/Payroll process; Employee Assistance programme.

24 Diolch Thank you Thank You Thank You

Download ppt "Croeso i Brifysgol Aberystwyth Welcome to Aberystwyth University"

Similar presentations

Ads by Google