2 Problem 1See-Clear Optics is considering producing a new line of eyewear. After considering the cost of raw materials and the cost of new equipment, the company estimated fixed cost at $40,000 and variable cost at $45 per unit.1a. If the selling price of each new product is set at $100, how many units must the company sell to break even? Illustrate your solution graphically.
6 Solution1 If Q > QBE, produce new line of eyewear. If Q < QBE, do not produce new line of eyewear.
7 Problem 2Med First is a medical facility that offers outpatient medical services. The facility is considering offering an additional service, mammography screening tests, on site. The facility estimate the annual fixed cost to be $120,000. Variable cost for each patient processed are estimated at $35 per patient. If the clinic plans to charge $55 for each screening, how many patients must it process a year to break even?
9 Problem 6Harrison Hotels is considering adding a spa to its current facility in order to improve its list of amenities. Operating the spa would require a fixed cost of $25,000 a year. Variable cost is estimated at $35 per person. The hotel wants to break even if 12,000 customers use the spa facility. What should be the price of the spa services?
10 Solution 6 F = $25,000 per year VC = $35 per person QBE = 12,000 customersSP = ?
11 Solution 6 The next two slides give two solutions “Solution 1” is the solution I presented in class.“Solution 2,” which is faster and easier, was proposed by a student in my 3:30 class. (Thanks for your insightful help!)
14 Problem 16Oakwood Outpatient Clinic is analyzing its operation in an effort to improve performance. The clinic estimates that a patient spend on average 3.5 hours at the facility. The amount of time the patient is in contact with staff (i.e., physicians, nurses, office staff, lab technicians) is estimated at 40 minutes. On average, the facility see 42 patients per day. Their standard has been 40 patients per day. Determine the clinic’s process velocity and efficiency.
15 If PV = 1.0, throughput time = value added time or no wasted time.If PV > 1.0, throughput time > value added time,there is wasted time.If PV < 1.0, throughput time < value added time,some value added steps omitted.
17 Solution 16Throughput time (cycle time) is 5.25 times greater than value added time.There is wasted time in system.170 (=210 – 40) minutes, 2.8 hours, are wasted in activities (e.g., waiting) that do not add value to the patient.
19 Solution 16The clinic output, measured in terms of number of patients seen, is 5% greater than the standard.
20 Problem 17Oakwood Outpatient Clinic rents a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) machine for 30 hours a month for use on its patients. Last month the machine was used 28 hours. What is the machine utilization?