2 Who is easier to understand? Media personorMartian
3 Target group and universe Target group: The demographic group that has been identified as the key consumer group for the brand. All marketing/advertising activities are concentrated on reaching/appealing to this groupIn practice: Target group could be Female years oldUniverse: The actual number of individuals within the defined target group In practice: The F y.o. universe is
4 1 % of the target audience Rating PointThe percentage (%) of the target universe exposed to a TV or Radio Spot at a given moment1 rating point1 % of the target audience=Channel 1Channel 2The Universe = 10 Women 18-34Sunday , March 8, 2002, 7:30 pmRating Channel 1 = 40%Rating Channel 2 = 20%
5 GRP & TRPBoth terms, GRP (Gross Rating Point) and TRP (Target Rating Point) represent rating and they are calculated in exactly the same way as rating. The only difference being thatGRP : The number of ratings expressed against All IndividualsTRP : The number of ratings achieved against the actual target audienceNote: Although GRP and TRP is measured in terms of percentage, nobody treat with GRP as with a percentage number. The percentage sign (%) is not used also.
6 Affinity Affinity of Programme A for Target 15% Affinity = x 100 = 107 Affinity index is an index of campaign weight or rating performance against a particular target audience versus total individuals Formula: Affinity = TRP / GRPProgramme “JA IMAM TALENAT”15% of Target AudienceProgramme “JA IMAM TALENAT”14% of Total IndividualsAffinity of Programme A for Target15%Affinity = x 100 = 10714%If Affinity is > than 100 the programme is skewed to the targetNote: affinity index is usually measured in % but canbe expressed as absolute number, too
7 There is another definition of GRP GRP is the sum of ratings of each individual spotFormula: GRP=Rating1+Rating2+…+Rating3rd spot2nd spot1st spot5.424.62.8Rating32.7GRPSum of the ratingsViewers?Can the Rating be higher then 100?And the GRP?No, maximum 100% of the target audience can watch a program.Yes, as a cummulative figure, easily go above 100.
8 AMR (Average Minute Rating) AGB Nielsen provides us with minute by minute TV rating based on the peoplemeter’s data.The average of these ratings represents AMR.AMR can be calculate for one channel, program, break, day part… on a daily, monthly, yearly…levelSource: AGB, week Dec 2009
9 Reach (Coverage)Percentage of our target universe that was exposed at least once to an advertising schedule. Usually measured over 1 or 4 week period Example: Target Universe = 1,000,000 A campaign achieves 80% reach in 1 week 80% of the target have seen the commercial at least once 800,000 of the target have seen the commercial at least once
10 Frequency (also called Average Frequency or OTS) The average number of times that each person is exposed to a brand’sadvertising campaign or schedule.Example:Average Frequency of means that, as an average, every person reached has seen the commercial 4 times. This is an average, which means that some people have seen the commercial more times, and some less. The average gives us a general idea of the campaign frequency performance.Level of the frequency1 exactly once 1+ at least once 2 exactly two times 2+ at least two times 3 exactly three times 3+ at least three times
11 Reach & FrequencyOne of the most crucial tasks a media planner needs to face is to set the Media GoalsHow many people to reachHow many times those people should be exposed to the advertising frequencyReach and Frequency are the 2 main Media Goals we need to establish
12 Can the number of GRPs or TRPs be a media goal? GRPs or TRPs are results of the reach and frequency goals we setGRPs or TRPs are not goals by themselvesGRPs or TRPs alone don’t tell us what we really achieve
13 C/GRP (cost per GRP) or C/TRP (cost per TRP) CPP (cost per point) Definition : The cost of buying one rating point/reaching 1% of a specific target audience via certain media type (one GRP or one TRP)Formula: Cost ÷ Total TRPs = Cost per TRP (CPP per TRP)In Practice: EUR 220,000 ÷ 1000 TRPs = EUR 220 cost per TRP
14 Cost Per Thousand (CPT) Definition: The cost of reaching 1000 target audience individuals within the campaign.Formula: CostTRPs (÷ 100) x Universex 1000 = CPTIn Practice : EUR 24,750 cost; 110 TRPs; 5,000,000 Universe24,7501.1 x 5,000,000x 1000 = EUR 4.50 CPT
15 Audience Share Channel or Audience Share It is the percentage of audience’s viewing of a particular TV channel using TV across all channels within a given time period. The total Audience share is always 100% even though the number of viewers variesSource: AGB
16 Natural Delivery, Day Part Viewership Natural delivery of viewership across TV channels average audience share of TV channels across a specific periodDay Part – specific time frame within the dayE.gNatural delivery of day parts’ viewership – average audience share of TV channels’ across day partsSource: AGB
17 Share of Spending, Share of Voice Share of Spending ( SOS)The brand’s or advertiser’s advertising weight expressed as a percentage of a defined total market or market segment in a given time period.The weight is defined in terms of expenditures.Share of Voice (SOV)The brand’s or advertiser’s advertising weight expressed as a percentage of a defined total market or market segment in a given time period.The weight is defined in terms of ratings (GRP).
18 Seasonality, Advertising weights, Channel Mix, Day part Mix Seasonality – depending on the type of the product, its purchase cycle, consumption, it is defined in which months or weather continuously we need to support our brandAdvertising weights – the level of TRPs needed on the monthly / weekly level dependant on the type of product, category, media environment, advertising goalsChannel Mix – TRP distribution across channels in our media strategyDaypart Mix – distribution of TRPs across day parts
19 Some other termsTechnical coverage (penetration) – percentage of people that can technically receive signal of a particular TV stationCirculation: The total number of copies distributed through all channels such as subscriptions and newsstandFaces / sites – outdoor media surfacesUC – (User Clicks) – shows the number of cookie visitors who performed a first clickCTR – (Click Through Rate) – a coefficient showing the share of cookie visitors who were shown the ad and clicked on it