Presentation on theme: "Media Terminology. 2 Who is easier to understand? Media person Martianor."— Presentation transcript:
2 Who is easier to understand? Media person Martianor
Target group and universe Target group: The demographic group that has been identified as the key consumer group for the brand. All marketing/advertising activities are concentrated on reaching/appealing to this group In practice: Target group could be Female years old Universe: The actual number of individuals within the defined target group In practice: The F y.o. universe is
4 The Universe = 10 Women Sunday, March 8, 2002, 7:30 pm Rating Point The percentage (%) of the target universe exposed to a TV or Radio Spot at a given moment 1 rating point 1 % of the target audience = Channel 1Channel 2 Rating Channel 1 = 40% Rating Channel 2 = 20%
5 Both terms, GRP (Gross Rating Point) and TRP (Target Rating Point) represent rating and they are calculated in exactly the same way as rating. The only difference being that GRP & TRP GRP: The number of ratings expressed against All Individuals TRP : The number of ratings achieved against the actual target audience Note: Although GRP and TRP is measured in terms of percentage, nobody treat with GRP as with a percentage number. The percentage sign (%) is not used also.
6 Programme JA IMAM TALENAT 15% of Target Audience Programme JA IMAM TALENAT 14% of Total Individuals Affinity Affinity index is an index of campaign weight or rating performance against a particular target audience versus total individuals Formula: Affinity = TRP / GRP Affinity of Programme A for Target 15% Affinity =x 100 = % If Affinity is > than 100 the programme is skewed to the target Note: affinity index is usually measured in % but can be expressed as absolute number, too
7 There is another definition of GRP GRP is the sum of ratings of each individual spot Formula: GRP=Rating1+Rating2+…+Rating rd spot 2 nd spot 1 st spot Rating 32.7GRP Sum of the ratings Viewers Can the Rating be higher then 100? And the GRP? Yes, as a cummulative figure, easily go above 100. No, maximum 100% of the target audience can watch a program. ?
8 AMR (Average Minute Rating) AGB Nielsen provides us with minute by minute TV rating based on the peoplemeters data. The average of these ratings represents AMR. AMR can be calculate for one channel, program, break, day part… on a daily, monthly, yearly…level Source: AGB, week Dec 2009
9 Reach (Coverage) Percentage of our target universe that was exposed at least once to an advertising schedule. Usually measured over 1 or 4 week period Example: Target Universe = 1,000,000 A campaign achieves 80% reach in 1 week 80% of the target have seen the commercial at least once 800,000 of the target have seen the commercial at least once
10 Frequency (also called Average Frequency or OTS) The average number of times that each person is exposed to a brands advertising campaign or schedule. Example: Average Frequency of 4.0 means that, as an average, every person reached has seen the commercial 4 times. This is an average, which means that some people have seen the commercial more times, and some less. The average gives us a general idea of the campaign frequency performance. Level of the frequency 1exactly once1+ at least once 2exactly two times2+ at least two times 3exactly three times 3+ at least three times
11 Reach & Frequency One of the most crucial tasks a media planner needs to face is to set the Media Goals How many people to reach How many times those people should be exposed to the advertising frequency Reach and Frequency are the 2 main Media Goals we need to establish
12 Can the number of GRPs or TRPs be a media goal? GRPs or TRPs are results of the reach and frequency goals we set GRPs or TRPs are not goals by themselves GRPs or TRPs alone dont tell us what we really achieve
13 C/GRP (cost per GRP) or C/TRP (cost per TRP) CPP (cost per point) Definition : The cost of buying one rating point/reaching 1% of a specific target audience via certain media type (one GRP or one TRP) Formula: Cost ÷ Total TRPs = Cost per TRP (CPP per TRP) In Practice: EUR 220,000 ÷ 1000 TRPs = EUR 220 cost per TRP
14 Cost Per Thousand (CPT) In Practice :EUR 24,750 cost; 110 TRPs; 5,000,000 Universe 24, x 5,000,000 x 1000 = EUR 4.50 CPT Definition: The cost of reaching 1000 target audience individuals within the campaign. Formula: Cost TRPs (÷ 100) x Universe x 1000 = CPT
15 Audience Share Channel or Audience Share It is the percentage of audiences viewing of a particular TV channel using TV across all channels within a given time period. The total Audience share is always 100% even though the number of viewers varies Source: AGB
16 Natural Delivery, Day Part Viewership Natural delivery of viewership across TV channels average audience share of TV channels across a specific period Day Part – specific time frame within the day E.g Source: AGB Natural delivery of day parts viewership – average audience share of TV channels across day parts
17 Share of Spending, Share of Voice Share of Spending ( SOS) The brands or advertisers advertising weight expressed as a percentage of a defined total market or market segment in a given time period. The weight is defined in terms of expenditures. Share of Voice (SOV) The brands or advertisers advertising weight expressed as a percentage of a defined total market or market segment in a given time period. The weight is defined in terms of ratings (GRP).
18 Seasonality, Advertising weights, Channel Mix, Day part Mix Seasonality – depending on the type of the product, its purchase cycle, consumption, it is defined in which months or weather continuously we need to support our brand Advertising weights – the level of TRPs needed on the monthly / weekly level dependant on the type of product, category, media environment, advertising goals Channel Mix – TRP distribution across channels in our media strategy Daypart Mix – distribution of TRPs across day parts
19 Some other terms Technical coverage (penetration) – percentage of people that can technically receive signal of a particular TV station Circulation: The total number of copies distributed through all channels such as subscriptions and newsstand Faces / sites – outdoor media surfaces UC – (User Clicks) – shows the number of cookie visitors who performed a first click CTR – (Click Through Rate) – a coefficient showing the share of cookie visitors who were shown the ad and clicked on it