2 Media Planning Tonight’s class will cover: Homework review Some new material – Flow Chart, Standard Broadcast CalendarPrintNew Material on SOVReview for Mid term exam
3 FlowchartA graphic presentation of all major actions that comprise a media planPresented in notation form enabling planner to place great deal of information in small space.Most important function is to provide a bird’s-eye view of plan of actionIncludes a week by week showing of activity by media, cumulative budgets and grp’s
4 FlowchartMany times clients, account service and creatives think the flowchart is the plan.It is just a small, but important part of the plan.Example of RBB Sporting Goods Flow Chart shows week by week of Network TV, Cable TV, Recap by quarter with Reach and Frequency, Magazines by title, Internet, Total flight GRP’s/Reach/Frequency and budgets.
5 Standard Broadcast Calendar*****Important On the flowchart, notice the weeks at the top of page.Advertising is planned and purchased on a different kind of calendar.Standard Broadcast Calendar.Weeks start on Monday, end on SundayMonth ends on last Sunday of the calendar month and begins on the first Monday of the next month.
6 Standard Broadcast Calendar All of advertising adheres to this calendar.View 3 year Standard Broadcast CalendarThe Standard Broadcast Calendar is designed to conform to the uniform billing period adopted by US Broadcasting industry.Standard media week ends on Sunday.Standard billing month always ends on the final Sunday of a calendar month.
7 Markets: DMA/TSA/MSA What is a local market to a media planner? A group of people living in a certain geographic area who are likely to buy a given product or brandDMA****ImportantDesignated Market Area DMAUsed by Nielsen (and advertising industry) for a television market. Includes counties in the metropolitan area of a market.Statistical areaTV markets are categorized by DMA.TV is measured by DMA’sDenton is in the Dallas/Ft. Worth DMA
8 Markets: DMA/TSA/MSA TSA Total Survey Area Statistical area surrounding the DMA. These households may belong to another DMA, however they receive some of their TV viewing/radio listening from the DMA.
9 Markets: DMA/TSA/MSA MSA Metro Survey Area A population area with a large nucleus at the center and adjacent areas that have a large degree of economic and social integration with the center.Radio is measured by MSA’s.TSA data is also available but markets are planned and purchased on MSA’s for RadioThis is generally a smaller area inside the DMA.Radio measured on MSA’s because of radio signals.
11 Magazine Sold by display space in page or fractional page unit B/W & Color rates are differentBleed (additional 15%)Discounts based onFrequency of insertionPage equivalent discount
12 Magazines Regional or geographical rate Premiums on “cover” position Second, third, fourth cover pageFourth cover (back page) is the most expensive and the most effectiveRates are negotiable
13 Newspaper Sold by column inch Open-rate/Flat rate (color rate) Display ad: SAU (standard advertising unit)Line-rate (or agate rate) for classified adsOpen-rate/Flat rate (color rate)Color charges are “add-on”Different rates for national, retail, classified, co-opGeographic rateFrequency/volume discount
14 Readers-per copyThe total number of primary and pass-along readers of a given issue of a publicationAs a copy is passed from one reader to the next, the number of readers of that copy increases ie readers-per -copy
15 Factors affecting Readers-per copy Distribution patterns-airplanes, doctors’ offices, etc allow more people to be exposed to a specific copy…much of this readership is passalongAmount of Editorial…The more words contained in a magazine, the longer it takes to read. Primary readers will hold that copy longer with fewer passalong readersType of editorial…Some pubs are retained by primary reader because of the reference material
16 Readers-per-copy (RPC) is determined by dividing total audience of an average issue (as reported by various research companies) by the average issue circulation of that pubNot necessarily an accurate number, but is commonly used by planners to assess total audience of a pub or to plan for a new publication
17 Readers-per-copy Total audience =2,300,000 Average issue circulation =1,800,000RPC=2,300,000/1,800,000=1.27 readers per copy
19 Share of Voice How much to spend on advertising A planning concept that is often used in making media decisions is calledShare of Voice or Share of NoiseThis concept requires planner to determine how much advertising is being done for a brand VS the amount being done for a competitive brand
20 Share of Voice-SOVBUT Before decisions made about how much to be spent, other decisions must be made.Who your brand will compete withLemonade-competing with just lemonade or all non carbonated beverages or all citrus beverages or all refreshment beveragesWhere will you advertise?You will need to determine share of market in each location (BDI/CDI) and reason that share exists
21 SOVPoor sales in one area could be due to bad distribution, a great local brand or pricing policies (Mrs Bairds vs Wonder Bread)
22 SOVCan advertising affect a sales change? (if distribution is such that product is not readily available in certain areas, advertising will be wasted.)
23 Share of VoiceSOV is % of total advertising weight for each brand and it is calculated by each media and by combined media. ExYou will have a Share of Voice for TV, a share of Voice for radio, a SOV for Outdoor and then one combined for all media.
24 SOVClients LOVE SOV data and while its not the most reliable way to determine spending, its usually used by agencies because data appears so compelling to clients that they will often increase their spending budgets.SOV data is used in conjunction with CDI/BDI to help planners focus in on markets to advertise in and what levels to advertise at.
25 SOV BDI/CDI shows how strong a brand and category are in a market. SOV shows how much money is spent by category and brand by media and by all in a market or markets.
26 SOV In class exercise Work through example on pass out for Beer Table shows 3 charts that represent how a SOV is calculated.1) Total spending by brand on advertising and how it is allocated. (by media)2) Media Mix-shows the % spent in each media by brand and total3) SOV-calculated by dividing brand spending into the total spending by media by total.
27 SOV Rand the brands in terms of share of spending from high to low Anheuser Bush 41.7MillerCoorsHeiniken 11.0Guinnes
28 SOVWhat is the share of spending for Coors compared to Anheuser-Busch?20.1 vs 41.7
29 SOVCompare the media mix of Bud Light to Miller Lite. What are their strengths and weaknesses?Spending on Bud is 62.2% in Network; Miller is 50.4%Miller spending a greater % of their budget (not actual $’s, but % of budget) in Hispanic and cable & National Magazines.Miller is light in Spot TV
30 SOVWhat brand has the highest percentage of their media allocation dedicated to Hispanic television? Why do you think the brand allocated their dollars that way?Opportunity to own Hispanics?Miller might have better distribution in markets with heavy Hispanic populations. Maybe high BDI
31 SOVWhat is the ratio of all television (national, local, cable and syndication) to all radio (national and local) dollars spent in the category?TV =91%Radio = 4%
32 SOVHow does the total share of spending for each brand compare to the share of spending they do on cable television? Why do you feel that certain brands spend more of less than their total share of spending on this particular medium?Smaller brands spend more on cable-Busch, Guinness, Heinekin-cable less expensive out of pocket-brands have less $-opportunity to own a category…if anyone watching cable, these brands have greater opportunity to break thru clutter.
33 SOVIf Guinness Beer had an extra $50 million to invest in media, where would you allocate it to compete against Heineken?An extra $50 million would make their spending similar…Hispanic, network radio, national newspaper, outdoor
34 Review for Midterm5 things all media plans must address: Who, what, where, when, how.Who are you advertising to?What are you advertising?Where will you advertise ?(Markets/mediums/vehicles)When are you going to be active?How much should be spent on advertising?
35 Review for Test 3 most important things for media plan Objectives-The statement of action required of media to fufil the marketing plans ie Reach 70% of target minimum of 10 x first 4 weeks of scheduleStrategy-Media solution used to fufill the objectives ie Reach 70% of Ad2554 with TV, radio and outdoor every week of campaign at a ratio of 40% TV, 20% radio and 40% outdoorTactics-Very specific way of accomplishing strategy-Use TV News, News formatted magazines and News/Talk radio stations, bulletins, 2- ½ page print ads
36 Review for MidtermWhat is the calendar that the entire advertising industry is based on called and how does it differ from a regular calendar?..Standard Broadcast Calendar..runs M-SU. Ends on the last Sunday of the calendar month.If you reach 30% of your market with outdoor & 20% with TV, is your overall reach 50%? No…duplicationMediums and vehiclesMediums TV, Radio, Print. Vehicle is specific…CBS, KPLX-FM, Time Magazine.
37 Review for MidtermStatistical areas DMA, MSA, TSA… what ares is TV planned and purchased for? DMA Radio? MSA or MetroWhen looking at the life cycle of a product:If the product is new, you need more Reach.If the product is growing, you need Reach and Frequency.If the product is mature, you need more frequency.If the product is obsolete, probably nothing can help.
38 Review for MidtermWhat is CPP? Cost per rating point. How is it calculated? Cost for a spot is $ Rating for that spot is 20. CPP is $1000/20 =$50 (The cost for reaching 1% of our target is % 50) Formula = Rating into costWhat is CPM Cost per thousand. How is it calculated? Cost for a spot is $250. # people for that spot is 50,000. CPM is .005 x 1000=5.00 Formula= cost/# people x 1000.
39 Review for MidtermWhen talking about “GRP”s are we talking about the sum of audience impressions? NO GRP’s are % of pop.(Ratings) Impressions refer to numbers of imprints.
40 Review for MidtermWhat are Gross Rating points…Sum of all ratings without regard to duplication. Gross Impressions…sum of all media exposures (includes duplication)
41 Review for MidtermDo gross impressions in print include pass along readers? YesExclusive Reach-Number of DIFFERENT people impactedAverage Frequency- Average number of times target is reached.Formula for GRP’s R x F =GRP’s
42 Review for MidtermRating % of your population (not expressed with % sign)Share % of HUTFormula for Rating: Share x Hut =RatingAdvertising is part of Promotion
43 Review for MidtermCalculating Gross impressions and cpm when you know cppIn Dallas, Oprah costs $2000 for a :30 second spot making the cpp (cost per rating point) $500 for Women There are 300,000 women 2554 households in DFW. Determine the impressions and cpm1) Get Rating W2554 $2000/500 cpp=4 RW25542)Find Impressions: 300,000* .04 (4 rating or 4%) =12,000 impressions3)Find CPM: 2000*1000/12,000= $ Multiply cost x 1000 and Divide by impressions to get cpm.This says that 12,000 w2554 watch Oprah and it will cost to reach 1000 of them
44 Review for MidtermCalculating Ratings and CPP when you know impressionsBeaumont has a population of 200,000. To advertise in the paper is $2.00 per column inch and you are buying a 72-column-inch ad. The paper has a circulation of 100,000. What is the cpp?1) Find cpm x 72 =$144 for the ad2) 144/100,000=1.44 cpm3) Find cpp /200000=.50 or 50 rating Cost is $144, rating is 504) 144/50=2.88 cpp
45 Review for Midterm Readers per copy Prevention Magazine has a paid circulation of 2,500,000 with a total circulation of 10,000,000. Determine the readers per copyReaders/Circulation10,000,000/2,500,000= 4.0
46 Review for Midterm Index A percentage that relates numbers to a base of 100BDI - how it is calculated and what it is used for-Brand Brand Development IndexAddresses Brand sales in a market or a population (region) 11/10 =110 BDI% brand sales/% population or % of market% of Average market ie 22/20 =110 BDI
47 Review for MidtermCDIIdentical to BDI but it addresses category sales instead of product sales.Usefullness is either to define pockets of strength or weakness for a category when you have new product or To assess brand development when compared to category development ie T-Mobile’s BDI is 110 but its slightly underdeveloped when compared to the category of Cell phones which is a 120 CDIA market with a high BDI and CDI is a promising market. Ideal for spending money in.