Presentation on theme: "Calculating Sales Price and Food Cost"— Presentation transcript:
1Calculating Sales Price and Food Cost chapter 6Calculating Sales Price and Food Cost
2Menu Pricing Methods Multiple approaches, all valid. Sales prices for a dish must cover the item’s food cost plus extra to help cover all other non-food costs.Contribution Margin = the portion of a dish’s sales price that is left after the item’s cost per portion is covered.
3Calculating Menu Price Using Food Cost Percent FCSP = FC ÷ FC%SP x FC%
4Food Cost Percent Method Food Cost = Cost per portion from recipe spreadsheetIndustry FC% often ranges 20-40%, but most operate in the low to mid 30’s.Selecting the right FC% is the biggest challenge
5Example 6aWhat is the sales price for a veal entrée with a cost per portion of $5.71, if the restaurant targets a food cost percent of 30.2%?SP = FC ÷ FC% = $5.71 ÷ = $18.91
6Overhead-Contribution Method The overhead-contribution method uses budgets and historical data to determine overhead and profit costs and then FC%.CM% = Contribution Margin %CM% = (overhead + profit) ÷ salesFC% = 100% - CM% (here, CM% is in % form)SP = FC ÷ FC% (in decimal form)
7Example 6bA restaurant has overhead of $710,000 and wants profit of $47,000 from forecast sales of $1,000, Using overhead-contribution method, determine FC% and sales price for grouper with a cost per portion of $5.28.CM% = ($710,000 + $47,000) ÷ $1,000,000 = 75.7% FC% = 100% % = 24.3% SP = $5.28 ÷ = $21.79
8Texas Restaurant Association (TRA) Method The TRA method is similar to the overhead-contribution, but profit percent (and thus FC%) can vary by menu category or even by menu item.FC% = 100% - overhead % - profit %Low-profit entrées and high-profit other categoriesHigher profit on slow-moving itemsSP = FC ÷ FC%
9Calculating Menu Prices Using Prime Costs Prime cost definitions:Combined total cost of food, beverage, and labor cost (bird’s eye perspective)Combined total cost per portion and direct labor cost needed to prepare a dish (single portion perspective)Direct Labor Cost is determined by observing staff productivity and factoring employee hourly wage rates
10Prime Cost MethodPrime Cost = Food Cost + Direct Labor Cost Sales Price = Prime Cost X Price FactorPrice factor may start off randomly, but it gets refined with historical data
11Prime Cost = $1.92 + $1.65 = $3.57 Sales Price = $3.57 X 3.1 = $11.07 Example 6cA restaurant uses a price factor of Chicken roulade costs $1.92 per portion with a direct labor cost of $ Determine sales price using the prime cost method.Prime Cost = $ $1.65 = $3.57 Sales Price = $3.57 X 3.1 = $11.07
12Actual Pricing MethodUses budget percents to determine price divisor to apply to dish’s prime cost.Price Divisor = 100% - (Variable Cost % + Fixed Cost % + Profit %) Sales Price = Prime Cost ÷ Price Divisor
13Example 6dIn a given restaurant, variable cost is 29%, fixed cost is 12%, profit is 6%. Using Actual Price Method, calculate sales price for a dish costing $3.09 per portion with a direct labor cost of $0.88Price Divisor = 100% - (29% + 12% +6%) = 53% Prime Cost = $ $0.88 = $3.97 SP = $3.97 ÷ 0.53 = $7.49
14Gross Profit Pricing Method Gross profit is money made from sales after food and beverage are deducted (like contribution margin, but it refers to total sales over a period of time).Gross profit per customer = gross profit over a period ÷ customers over that period Sales Price = Cost per portion + Gross profit per customer
15Example 6eEach month a restaurant has gross profit of $2,890 and serves 1,000 customers. A sandwich costs $1.47 per portion. Using the gross profit method, determine a sales price for the sandwich.Gross profit per customer = $2,890 ÷ 1,000 = $2.89 Sales Price = $ $2.89 = $4.36
16Why Use Gross Profit Method Appropriate with low-cost items that are similar in costs to each other – like a coffee shopBecause gross profit per customer is added (not multiplied), sales prices remain in a narrow range for items that only vary in cost by a few pennies but may be quite different percentage-wise. ($0.20 vs. $0.40)
17Base-Price MethodBase-price method starts with sales price and works backward to create target food cost per portion. It is often used in corporate cafeterias and fast food (think: $0.99 menu).Determine desired sales priceFC = SP X FC%Modify recipe to hit FC target
18Matching Competitors’ Prices Keeps sales prices competitive, but…Risky because you don’t know the competitors’ costs and special arrangements.Family businesses may use free labor from family members.Large operations may get cheap purveyor prices for buying in bulkYou may not be able to afford to sell at their prices.
19Choosing the Best Pricing Method Prime cost methods work well when preparation time for dishes varies greatly.Base price approach is best when a price point is required to remain competitive.Food cost percent methods are easy to use and work well when all dishes have similar direct labor costs and food costs are not below 20%.There is no best method for everyone!
20Factors that Impact Final Menu Pricing Competition (studied through a competitive analysis)Price Sensitivity of a productPerceived ValueProduct Differentiation – how greatly a product differs from similar competitor products
21Psychological Pricing Guests are most comfortable with prices ending in: $0.00, $0.25, $0.45, $0.49, $0.50, $0.75, $0.95, or $0.99.Whole dollars suggest luxury.Prices ending in “9” suggest a deal.Prices ending in “5” or “0” suggest good value but not “cheap.”In most cases, calculated prices are rounded up to the nearest “comfortable” price.
22Controlling Total Food Cost and Sales Tracking actual food cost as a percent of sales helps a manager spot unexpected loss.Food cost for a month must account for more than just food purchases:Food and beverage purchases are tracked separatelyInventory in storage is valued by physical count at the start and end of each period
23Controlling Total Food Cost (cont.) Employee meals are valued and shifted to labor cost as they are employee perks.Promotions (giving away food for marketing purposes) is assigned to marketing, not food cost.Transfers move ingredients from one department to another. “Transfer in” adds to the food cost; “transfer out” deducts the value from the food cost.Transfers can occur between restaurants in a larger hotel or campus or between a kitchen and bar
24Controlling Total Food Cost (cont.) Steward Sales are sales of ingredients from a purveyor to an employee using the restaurant as a middleman .Grease Sales are monies raised by selling grease or animal fat to another company.
25Cost of Food Sold Formula Preliminary Cost of Food Sold = Opening Inventory + Purchases – Closing Inventory Cost of Food Sold = Preliminary Cost of Food + Transfers In And/or - Transfers Out - Employee Meals - Promotions and Write-Offs - Steward Sales - Grease Sales
26Example 6f A hotel restaurant has the following data. What is the cost of food sold for this restaurant?food purchases = $73,000opening inventory = $41,000closing inventory = $44,000transfers in = $1,200transfers out = $250employee meals = $2,850promotions and write-offs = $460steward sales = $180grease sales = $30
28Total Sales and Food Cost Percent Total Sales (food sales) = total money charged to customers for the food they purchase.Beverages tracked separatelyStandard Food Cost Percent = budgeted FC% used to determine menu pricesActual Food Cost Percent = actual FC% calculated from cost of food sold and salesOften a variance between actual and stand FC% because of menu price rounding, theft, waste, spoilage, fluctuation in purveyor pricing, or guests who leave without paying
30FC% VarianceManagers should try to keep actual and standard FC% as close as possibleHigh FC% translates to lower profit
31Reasons and Solutions for FC% Variance Theftrequires greater securityWasterequires closer production oversight or additional employee trainingSpoilagerequires purchasing adjustmentsPurveyor price increaserequires new purveyor, portion size change, or menu price increaseGov’t regulations can have an impact, too
32Below Budget FC%Below budget FC% is only good if it comes from better pricing and efficiency.May signal reduction of quality or quantity standards.Reduced standards = fewer customers and less revenue.Variances are red flags that require investigation to see if standards are being met, where the problem lies, or if the variance is good news.
33Controlling RevenuePoint of Sales (POS) Systems control revenue by assigning all food ordered from the kitchen to a guest and server.POS tracks which server is responsible for uncollected monies.Only managers should be able to remove an item from a guest check.Managers can require all cash to go through a single cashier.
34Controlling Revenue with a POS Computer-less businesses should use duplicate check pads with one check going to the table and the duplicate copy going to the kitchen.Managers can reconcile kitchen and cashier checks to confirm they match and none are missing.Checks can be reviewed for addition errors too.