Presentation on theme: "How to get the most of your money. Raise prices to adjust to new food costs. Cost out menu & price items accordingly. Control portion sizes. Minimize."— Presentation transcript:
Raise prices to adjust to new food costs. Cost out menu & price items accordingly. Control portion sizes. Minimize & track waste. Spot-check prep staff ensure pre-cut portions weigh what they are supposed to. Link the chefs pay to a pre-set food cost %. Set up an incentive deal for the chef. Set up purchase order system. Negotiate prices with vendors for bulk buying. Take vendor discounts when offered. Organize storage room & keep inventory to a min. Purchase based on a budget.
A standard yield: expected qty. of food that results from a standard recipe. Stated in the total quantity of food the recipe produces, such as 3 gallons of clam chowder & by the number of portions it produces, such as 48–8 oz. bowls. A standard portion: consistent qty. of product served to each person each time it is served. Portion control tools: scoops, ladles, a standard serving bowl, or count promotes consistency and customer satisfaction, and aids in insuring a business profit.
1. Cost per Unit Method 2. Yield Test 3. Cooking Loss Test 4. Standard Recipe Using 1 or up to all of these will help you determine your plate cost.
Edible portion is the form in which the product is served. Little/nothing needs to be done to prepare a product in EP form. Ex: purchasing prepared cheese, cake that needs only slicing; a case of 6 oz. chicken breasts needing only to be cooked; or a case of 24–10 oz. bottles of sparkling soda need only to be opened = ex.of EP. Foods portion cost of a prepared item purchased in its EP form need to use the Cost/Unit Method.
Formula: PURCHASE UNIT COST # OF PORTION = STANDARD PORTION COST Example: The chef purchases a prepared cheesecake for $8.00. Using the12-slice portion, the Standard Portion Cost is calculated as follows: Purchase Unit Cost Number of Portions Standard Portion Cost $18.00 / 12 = $1.50 Practice Part 1
Yield test: process of raw product purchased in AP form -broken down into EP & waste. Purpose = is to determine the yield, the cost/lb, and the cost/per portion of a product purchased in an AP form. You break down the product into useable product & non-usable waste Ex. Food/beverage items: A case of green beans), poultry (a turkey), seafood or meat (10 lb. beef tenderloin), canned (#10 can chopped tomatoes), bottled (14 oz. artichoke hearts), & frozen items (5 gal. ice cream) prepared prior to purchasing. Many products are not 100% usable & include some waste.
By knowing the entire cost of the recipe, the business can determine the standard portion cost and adequate selling price, in order to insure that all costs in preparing the recipe are covered and profit is realized.
Step 1: Fill in the required information: name of the recipe, standard yield, standard portion of ingredients including garnishes from the standard recipes. Post the AP price in the cost/unit column. Step 2: Calculate the Individual Ingredient Cost. Ingredient qty. x price = individual ingredient cost. Step 3: Determine Yield %: Look up in chpt.11 or book of yields if there is trim plug in edible yield % in form.
Recipe: Chicken Tetrazzini Yield: 48servings Serving Size: 1/24 (12" x 20" x 2" pan) Total Cost: $96.17 Abbreviations used: lb – pound; qt = quart; oz = ounce; c = cup; gal = gallon; tsp = teaspoon Ingredient (1) Amount (2) Purchase Unit (3) Cost Per Purchase Unit (4) No. of Purchase Units (5) Ingredient Cost (6) (A) Spaghetti6 lb.(lb) $1.036$ 6.18 (B) Margarine2 lb.(lb).8921.78 (C) Celery2 qt.Bunch.991.51.49 (D) Onions2 qt.(lb)1.692.23.72 (E) Flour1 lb., 4 oz.(lb)22.214.171.124 (F) Salt2.5 oz.(lb).88.16.14 (G) Pepper1 tsp(lb)--- (H) Chicken Stock2 gal., 2 c---- --- (I) Chicken12 lb., 8 oz.(lb)2.352661.10 (J) Mushrooms2 c(lb)4.95.331.64 (K) Green Pepper3 c(lb)3.051.23.66 (L) Bread Crumbs2 qt.(lb)1.901.753.33 (M) Sharp Cheese, shredded 2 qt.(lb) 5.252.010.50
Entrée: Fresh White Fish Dinner Costing Date: 8/03/20xx ItemMenu ItemCost Per Serving EntréeFresh White Fish$ 4.23 PotatoThree Choices Daily0.37 VegetableFour Choices Daily0.42 SaladTossed Green, Caesar, Spinach1.12 Dressing5 Choices Daily0.37 GarnishLemon Wheels0.02 Bread Loaf0.27 ButterButter/Margarine0.06 Condiment(s)0.03 Total Entrée and Accompaniments Cost $6.89
Value Perception Perception is reality Pricing Psychology Price endings of.99 more suited to qsr menus. 0 and 5 endings more suited for full service menus Economic Influences Elastic vs. Inelastic Flexible vs. Inflexible
Step 1: Determine the selling price multiplier by dividing the budgeted food cost percentage into 100% ($1.00). Step 2: Determine the menu items base selling price by multiplying the estimated food cost by the selling price multiplier.
Works for a la carte menu items as well as grouped items: soup, entrée, salad, etc. Uses operation-wide data to determine a $ amount that must be added to each major menu items food cost. Can use the same contribution margin for all items or use categories. 2 versions of the formula: Combination: Practice Part 4
Pricing Factor or Multiplier: This formula gives a factor by which a food cost is multiplied to get a selling price. Formula: 100% / Desired food cost = Pricing Factor Pricing factor x Food Cost = Mathematical Price Example: Food cost is $2.73 and the desired food cost % is 35%. 100%/35%=2.86 factor 2.86 x $2.73 = $7.81
If food prices are rising rapidly customers may recognize the need of the operation to raise prices. In periods of stable prices where other factors may dictate increases customers may not be as willing to accept price increases. Sometimes menu items are removed and then brought back in anew manner with a higher price. Its not wise to raise all prices at once. Market Price. Daily inserts for items that have costs that fluctuate.