Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

FETAC Level 4.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "FETAC Level 4."— Presentation transcript:

1 FETAC Level 4

2 The CAS (Common Award System)
FETAC introduced a range of new awards developed through the Common Awards System. These awards are available to all registered providers, i.e. those who have agreed their quality assurance with FETAC.

3 A national approach at Level 4
For Levels 1, 2 and 3, VECs wrote their own programmes. VECs around the country wrote the new Level 4 and 5 programmes for sharing. The old Level 4 and many Level 5 modules will be deactivated in December 2012. The new Level 4 and 5 programmes are now ready for sharing across the VECs.

4 Level 2 and Level 3 It is envisaged that Level 2 will be available nationally in December 2012. Writing will commence in September. Co. Cavan VEC will be part of this process. Level 3 programmes will also be made available nationally (this process has started).

5 Level 4 - The process Meetings – different VECs were given different components to write Writing took place Programmes went up on the FESS website for consultation Comments fed back to all VECs Programmes amended as necessary Went back up for consultation The process was made available through FESS Different VECs evaluated programmes All programmes were put through the PAA process

6 Co. Cavan VEC We wrote: Understanding interculturalism, Data Entry and Business English We wrote the programme information for the Security Skills Major Award The writing team: Mary McKenna, Michael Donohoe, Kevin Farrelly, Janna Tiearney Cavan Institute wrote several security programmes

7 Level 4 Major Awards *See breakdown of major awards. ( ed to you separately) General Learning ICT Skills Early Childhood Education and Care Support Retail Skills Horticulture Private Security Services Employment Skills Hotel Front Office Office Skills Culinary Skills Engineering Skills (not on the sheet) * Sport and Recreation is still being written

8 The different awards All major awards have a value of 90 credits.
Every major award has core components. *See breakdown of major awards

9 Credit values Components are either 5, 10 or 15 credits.
1 credit = 10 hours learning (directed and self-directed study)

10 Where to find the programmes
Certificate and component specifications can be found on Programmes will be available on the website: from Friday 13th July (Will soon also be available on FBS, details will be ed to all)

11 The certificate specification
*See ‘Employability Skills’ certificate specification as an example: This includes: General information Knowledge, skill and competence Certificate requirement

12 The component specification
See ‘Work Experience’ component specification as an example: This includes: General information Learning outcomes Assessment techniques

13 The programmes *See ‘Work Experience’ programme as an example: (attached in your ) Each programme contains: General information Aims and objectives Learning outcomes Indicative content Assessment Marking sheets

14 Work Experience – 4N1168 The programme includes:
Introduction / General Information Title of the programme (may differ from the component title) Name / Code / Duration / Credit value / Status / Special Requirements Aims and objectives Learning outcomes - 10

15 Work Experience – 4N1168 Indicative content: states a minimum of ten days / 70 hours work experience Many of the Level 4 programmes are divided into sections: Section 1: General Work-Related Information Section 2: Planning and Preparation for the Work Placement Section 3: The Work Placement Section 4: Reviewing the Work Placement and Future Planning

16 Assessment – Collection of work
60% To include: A personal audit A summary of potential employment and learning opportunities A CV A letter of application

17 Assessment – Skills Demonstration
40% To include: Work Experience Employer Report ( document available at the end of the programme) Learner Account of Work Experience

18 Marking Sheet Allocation of marks may be more specific than the old modules. The marking sheets for some components are quite detailed in the new Level 4.

19 Old modules A deactivation date means that as and from that date, providers will no longer be able to enter learners for certification using the named award Learners may carry forward existing minor awards (components) as exemptions towards new common major and special purpose awards, where they are appropriate, until December 2014.

20 Programme Review The programme will be reviewed annually. The review process will adhere to Co. Cavan VEC’s Quality Assurance Policy, B5 Programme Development, Delivery and Review and associated procedures. Any comments and/or suggestions by tutors will be welcome.

21 Training in September Level 4 training – September 4th
This will centre around tutor packs, to include: Assessment briefs Assessment samples Solutions Marking schemes

Download ppt "FETAC Level 4."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google