Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

A Biography IT-133 – Software Applications Unit 8 – Matthes 2/1/2012.

Similar presentations


Presentation on theme: "A Biography IT-133 – Software Applications Unit 8 – Matthes 2/1/2012."— Presentation transcript:

1 A Biography IT-133 – Software Applications Unit 8 – Matthes 2/1/2012

2 Call me Brett… It all began on a cold winter’s day at the tail end of 1975 in a small town named Frankfurt am Main in Hesse, Germany. My dad was in the Army, days from being shipped home at the end of his tour of duty. I was 10 days old when I made my first, and so far only, trip across the ocean.

3 The Early Years Upon arrival back in the U.S. I found myself living in the beautiful Rocky Mountain city of Salt Lake City, Utah. I enjoyed living there, as far as I recall. Being only 7 when we left it’s hard to say; I had never really known anywhere else. In 1982 the family packed up and headed to warmer climes. I spent most of my formative years there, between 7 and 13 years of age, and it’s what I still consider my true “home”.

4 The Land of Ahhhs…and Tornados When our family moved to Kansas in 1989 I knew nothing about tornados other than the fact that they did, indeed, occur. My first lesson came within the first few days of residency, not in the form of a storm, but on a bright, Saturday afternoon. That’s when Wichita tests their Tornado Warning Sirens. I knew right then we were in for some interesting times.

5 A Little Pomp and Circumstance By the time I started high school in 1991 I was an expert on reading the air and clouds. I knew what a “hook echo” on a Doppler Radar screen meant and I knew where to be when the sirens went off. Although we did spend plenty of time hiding in the basement, we never had any real trouble with tornados. When I graduated high school in 1994 I considered myself lucky; I knew what I wanted to do for a living. I was going to fix airplanes.

6 And I Did Work On Airplanes For about 6 months. I worked at Boeing in Wichita and in that short period of time become completely disillusioned with the entire industry. So instead of continuing to go to school to get my Airframe and Powerplant license I moved to Indiana and became a Tool and Die maker / designer. And I loved it. Living in Indiana? I didn’t love it. Not even a little bit.

7 You Actually Can Go Home In 2002 my ability to cope with life in Indiana came to an end. I decided to go home. But I had a problem. I was a tool and die maker, but my entire tool box, with thousands of dollars in precision tools, had been stolen from my garage. I was a tradesman without the ability to practice my trade. On top of that, no shops were looking to hire a journeyman tool and die maker. Too expensive. Instead they were hiring high school graduates to run the computer controlled machines. And by run, of course, I mean “press start”. It was time for a new career.

8 Aboard the Stagecoach After 4 months and only one job interview that was worth the time it took to send a resume, and no job offers, my mom pulled some strings and I found myself working in a cubicle farm processing home equity applications. It was an interesting career move for somebody who, prior to their first day, didn’t even know what “equity” meant. My old boss from the tool and die shop used to always say “sometimes the hardest decisions in life are made for you”, and in this case, the decision was a good one. I’ve been with Wells Fargo now for 10 years and have moved up from loan processor. Today, having taught myself SQL, I am a database analyst with Home Mortgage.

9 I met the woman who would be my wife in 2007, and in 2009 she convinced me to drop everything and move to the other side of the country, Charlotte. NC. Since the move we This Time We Head East Purchased a house Got married Bought a car And developed a 10-year plan

10 Between school and hobbies I stay pretty busy. I play guitar (poorly) I play drums (better than I play guitar) I play tech support for my in-laws I design web sites I dabble in photography (see my portfolio at )http://nytsky.deviantart.com/ I help out with a local non-profit organization that is just getting started with a new shoe collection program to benefit children in developing countries And I have recently decided to start crafting with wood. Where Do I Find Time to Work?

11 Call Me! Phone:


Download ppt "A Biography IT-133 – Software Applications Unit 8 – Matthes 2/1/2012."

Similar presentations


Ads by Google