Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Bell Ringer Music (First 5 Minutes) Questions 1. Different styles of music are used for different purposes.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Bell Ringer Music (First 5 Minutes) Questions 1. Different styles of music are used for different purposes."— Presentation transcript:

1 Bell Ringer Music (First 5 Minutes) Questions 1. Different styles of music are used for different purposes. How does this music differ from the traditional Indian music? 2. Is there anything you like about this music? Why or Why not? 3. After listening for a few minutes, has this music helped you feel more peaceful or rested? Why or Why not?


3 Beginning Intro Video Textbook Reading - Siddhattha Gautama Pgs 112-113, 123

4 Vocabulary Buddha: The Illumined One. The main title of the founder of Buddhism after his Enlightenment. Dharma: The Universal Truth. The Teachings and the inner practice of the Teachings of Buddha Dukka: Suffering, stress, pain, misery, sorrow, unhappiness, dissatisfaction with the way things are, a central factor in the human condition. Eightfold Path: The path that leads to nirvana. Enlightenment: Complete elimination of all negative aspects of the mind and perfection of all positive qualities.

5 Vocabulary Great World Soul: A single, unifying spirit believed by some to animate every living being in the world and to underlie the value of every inanimate thing as well. Karma: the cosmic law of cause and effect Nirvana: Ultimate reality, the end of the self and a reunion with the Great World Soul. A place of complete bliss and enlightenment. Samsara: The world of appearances and endless flux, including all aspects of becoming and death; cycles of birth and rebirth. Tanha: Thirst. 'Craving' is the chief root of suffering, and of the ever continuing cycle of rebirths.

6 The Teachings of Buddha Having realized the goal of Enlightenment, the Buddha spent the next 45 years teaching the Path to others. The Teachings about this Path are called the Dhamma, literally meaning "the nature of all things" or "the truth underlying existence".

7 Teachings of Buddha The goal of these teachings is to help the believer achieve enlightenment and the cessation of suffering. Buddhism’s central tenets – the Four Noble Truths and the Noble Eightfold Path – put one on the path to enlightenment (nirvana). Underlying these doctrines is the philosophy of the Middle Way, a path of moderation between excess and severity. It avoids the two extremes of sensual indulgence and self-mortification. So the body can receive everything needed to be healthy in order to focus on attaining enlightenment

8 Four Noble Truths The Four Noble Truths are the foundation of all Buddhist beliefs, and they provide believers with a plan for dealing with and overcoming the challenges of life.

9 Four Noble Truths First Noble Truth Ordinary life is full of suffering Second Noble Truth Suffering is caused by our desire to satisfy ourselves Third Noble Truth The way to end suffering is to end desire for selfish goals and to see other as extensions of ourselves Fourth Noble Truth The way to end desire is to follow the Middle Path

10 Eightfold Path 1. Right View 2. Right Intention 3. Right Speech 4. Right Action 5. Right Livelihood 6. Right Effort 7. Right Mindfulness 8. Right Concentration

11 Eightfold Path (1) Right View – We need to know the Four Noble Truths (2) Right Intention – We need to decide what we really want (3) Right Speech – We must seek to speak truth and to speak well of others (4) Right Action – The Buddha gave 5 precepts/rules 1. Do not kill 2. Do not steal 3. Do not lie 4. Do not be impure 5. Do not take drugs or drink alcohol.

12 Eightfold Path (5) Right Livelihood – We must do work that uplifts our being (6) Right Effort – The Buddha said, “Those who follow the Way might well follow the example of an ox that arches through deep mud carrying a heavy load. He is tired, but his steady, forward- looking gaze will not relax until he comes out of the mud” (7) Right Mindfulness – We must keep our minds in control of our senses: “All we are is the result of what we have thought” (8) Right Concentration – We must meditate to see the world in a new way.

13 Eightfold Path in a Nutshell

14 The Teachings of Buddha Buddhist, the ultimate goal is not to attain an afterlife in a heavenly realm, but to achieve complete liberation from samsāra altogether. Once a person attains enlightenment, they no longer remain part of the wheel of rebirth and they attain nirvana. Nirvana is not envisioned as a place, Buddhists conceive of nirvana as a state of eternal, enlightened consciousness beyond death and life, free from suffering.

Download ppt "Bell Ringer Music (First 5 Minutes) Questions 1. Different styles of music are used for different purposes."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google