Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Presentation is loading. Please wait.

Buddhism The wheel is a common Buddhist symbol for Buddha’s teaching. His first sermon ‘set in motion the wheel of the Doctrine’. The wheel is used in.

Similar presentations

Presentation on theme: "Buddhism The wheel is a common Buddhist symbol for Buddha’s teaching. His first sermon ‘set in motion the wheel of the Doctrine’. The wheel is used in."— Presentation transcript:

1 Buddhism The wheel is a common Buddhist symbol for Buddha’s teaching. His first sermon ‘set in motion the wheel of the Doctrine’. The wheel is used in some cultures as a symbol of the sun, eternity and of the cycle of life.

2 Buddhism as a Living Religious System Three Jewels 1. BUDDHA showed how to break the bonds of rebirth by accumulating merit through deeds performed and the cycle of life and death KARMA SAMSARA

3 Three Jewels cont. 2. DHARMA provided insight a person could work one’s way to enlightenment this would be by way of the… FOUR NOBLE TRUTHS NIRVANA EIGHTFOLD PATH

4 Three Jewels cont. 3. SANGHA the most perfect way to live out the Eightfold Path community of monks 227 practical rules for monastic life help to ensure that the Eightfold Path is lived out as well as possible TEN PRECEPTS PATMOKKHA

5 Ten Precepts To refrain from taking the life of beings. To refrain from taking things not given. A monk must not beg or take what does not belong to him but must be totally dependent on the generosity of others. To do otherwise is stealing To refrain from sensual misconduct. Monks are expected to live a life of celibacy. To refrain from false speech. To refrain from substances which cause intoxication and heedlessness.

6 Ten Precepts cont. To refrain from taking food at inappropriate times. To refrain from dancing, singing, music and entertainments To refrain from the use of perfumes, ornaments and other items used to adorn or beautify the person. To refrain from using high or luxurious beds To refrain from accepting gold or silver

7 Buddhism Principal Beliefs

8 Four Noble Truths The Buddhist tradition is based heavily upon the Ways of Holiness. The key to the Buddhist Middle Way (Way of Holiness) begins with the FOUR NOBLE TRUTHS. These were the answers to Buddha’s search for the answer to the questions of suffering and evil. These are the core of Buddhist philosophy.

9 Four Noble Truths cont. Four Noble Truths: suffering (dukkha, unsatisfactoriness) the origin of suffering (craving or selfish desire) the cessation of suffering (Nirvana) the way leading to cessation of suffering (the Noble Eightfold Path)

10 1st Noble Truth: 1st Noble Truth: (dukkha unsatisfactoriness) FACT - Unsatisfactoriness of Life The first truth is the knowledge of suffering. This states that all individual existence is miserable and painful. e.g. Birth, diseases, old age, death, not getting what one desires or getting what one does not desire.

11 2nd Noble Truth: 2nd Noble Truth: (samudaya - origin) CAUSE - Cause of Suffering The second truth concerns the origin of suffering. Suffering and indeed all existence (since they are the same) has its source in desire and ignorance: for example the desire of the senses, the desire to be, the desire to destroy oneself. Craving (tanha, selfish desire), which is the result of ignorance.

12 3rd Noble Truth: 3rd Noble Truth: (nirodha - cure) ENDING - Cessation of Suffering The third truth deals with the destruction of suffering. Suffering must be totally extinguished; there is to be no remainder. This means being freed from the endless cycle of rebirth (samsara) and entering the blessed state of Nirvana. Nirvana : cessation of suffering extinction of craving extinction of greed, hate and delusion consummation in peace and understanding

13 4th Noble Truth: 4th Noble Truth: (magga - Middle Way) WAY LEADING TO END - Method of Being Free of Suffering The fourth truth indicates the way to this removal of suffering. This is by means of the Noble Eightfold Path, which formed Gautama Buddha’s basic teaching on Buddhist life-style. Right: Understandingthought Speechaction Livelihoodeffort Mindfulnessconcentration

14 Eightfold Path Sequential set of stepping-stones to attaining Nirvana

15 Eightfold Path cont. The Noble Eight-fold Path focuses the mind on being fully aware of our thoughts and actions, and developing wisdom by understanding the Four Noble Truths. It is the way Buddhists should live their lives. The Buddha said that people should avoid extremes. They should not have or do too much, but neither should they have or do too little. The 'Middle Way' is the best.Noble Eight-fold Path

16 Eightfold Path cont. Sequential set of stepping-stones to attaining Nirvana Wisdom Right Views/Understanding – thinking good & positive things Right Resolve/Thought – intending always good & positive

17 Eightfold Path cont. Conduct Right Speech – speaking only good & positive Right Conduct/Action – acting always in a good & positive way Right Livelihood – working always at what is good & positive

18 Eightfold Path cont. Meditation Right Efforts – energies always directed at what is good & positive Right Mindfulness – set one’s mind towards good & positive Right Concentration – contemplating only good & positive

19 speech attitude understanding meditation livelihood awareness action effort Eightfold Path represents the practical way in which individuals can overcome the cause of suffering and unhappiness in this life. 3. Insight / wisdom - right knowledge, right attitude OHP 9 It is concerned with three things: 1. Moral / ethical right speech, right action, right occupation 2. Spiritual discipline/ meditation right effort, right mindfulness, right composure

20 The Marks of Existence Three marks of existence: Anicca, Dukkha & Anatta (related) Anicca – impermanence – nothing in life stays the same, things will change, one cannot rely on the world in which we live to find final security & peace Dukkha – painful – inadequacy/incompleteness about the world. Struggle with selfishness, when let go of the selfish urge can over come this pain

21 The Marks of Existence cont. Anatta – letting go – individual overcomes the selfish, ego driven urge for permanence. Sees impermanence extends oneself. Nothing to gain in being selfish as there is no self. Accepting impermanence in this ways, pain of incompleteness is accepted, one can find peace. Anicca, Dukkha & Anatta capture the true Heart of Buddhist awakening.

22 Karma, Samsara, Nirvana Karma – storing up positive energies. Sufficient energies can overcome Samsara. Karma – mental state the free individual from Samsara Ultimate goal of Buddhism is to employ Karma to free oneself from the cycle of Samsara in order to reach the final point of enlightenment, Nirvana.

23 Karma, Samsara, Nirvana cont. Samsara The second noble truth taught by Buddha after his enlightenment is the truth of the cause of suffering. Desire, ill-will and ignorance are the causes of suffering, and a condition of life for all living beings. Samsara is the circle of suffering that is the destiny of all living beings until they achieve enlightenment and break the pattern of rebirth to experience the truth of existence.

24 Karma, Samsara, Nirvana cont. Nirvana – extinguishing of the self where non-self is realized.

25 Karma, Samsara, Nirvana cont. Tripitaka – ‘three baskets’ Tripitaka –Three major parts of Buddha’s teachings Vinaya Sutta Abidhamma Closely related to the centrality of Sangha. Sangha routine is the central beliefs of Buddhism Buddha believed the ordered life of the Sangha provided a better long-term authority for Buddhism than a line of successors.

Download ppt "Buddhism The wheel is a common Buddhist symbol for Buddha’s teaching. His first sermon ‘set in motion the wheel of the Doctrine’. The wheel is used in."

Similar presentations

Ads by Google